RSS

New Orleans: Spring Break ’08

24 Mar

I didn’t feel so much that I learned something new as much as God reinforced what he had already taught me. We hear so much about putting our faith into action and loving people as Christ loved, but I rarely took the opportunity to do so. I felt God putting it on my heart to live that out this trip, and he was faithful in making it happen. He showed me that I needed to have a patient attitude, be slow to anger, and quick to forgive, especially when working with as diverse a group of people as we had. God also took away any fears I had of reaching out to society’s outcasts. Probably the most touching part of my trip was interacting with the homeless under I-10 and getting the privelege to pray with them and meet some needs. They were for the most part very receptive and grateful. One older Asian man even gave us some spiritual advice, citing the importance of praying every day. He said that there are a lot of people in terrible conditions down there, and most should be dead. God must love them, he said.

Written by Adrian Beirise

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 24, 2008 in Judea, New Orleans

 

Leave a Reply

 
