RSS

Guatemala – June 2009

11 Jun

This was one of the most insightful and humbling trips I’ve been on in years. I basically new what I was going to see due to my Wife’s and Daughter’s  prior trips. But, I was not ready for the impact it would make on me. It can be a life changing trip. It will challenge you physically , mentally, emotionally and spiritually. Your relationship with Jesus will grow tremendously, and the relationships you develop on this trip you will remember forever. 

I have never been around a group of children that cared for each other so deeply with the smallest amount of possessions. Some things that we consider needs are in many cases simply wants. I saw joy and contentment in children and adults who only had food-shelter-basic clothing-friends and love for the Lord. It reminded me of Matthew 18:3-5 – “Truly I say to you, unless you are converted and become like children, you shall not enter the Kingdom of Heaven. “Whoever then humbles himself as this child ,he is the greatest in the Kingdom of Heaven. “And whoever receives one such child in My name receives Me.” 

I saw in ways children were perfect and precious in God’s sight and all the parts of my life that simply were not (materialistic, fast paced, success driven idea’s are not the plan of Jesus). 

I am going to miss Agustin’s under hand basketball shot.

Daniela’s pouting if I don’t hold her.

The beauty of Tatiana’s smile.

The inside and outside beauty of Miriam

Yogi’s hugs.

Ana-Gabriella’s voice and grin.

Paola’s laugh,

Moises energy,

and not the least Chepe ( my Grand son) saying I love you.

I could go on like this for hours on God’s Casa children.

My life is better for knowing them. 

Written by Joe Mains 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 11, 2009 in Guatemala, Samaria

 

Leave a Reply

 
