RSS

N. Africa – March 2010

26 Mar

Over the week several things have stood out to me.  The first experience was when we climbed up Mt. S.  About a third of the way up the climb (which started at 2a.m. in order to see the sunrise), I didn’t feel as if I had enough strength to make it up.  There were several other points along the two to three hour trek that I felt like giving up.  Each time I would cry out to God for help.  Because God is not a God who fails, He helped me make it to the top.  It was at that point that I was reminded to stay dependent on the Lord at all times.

I was reminded of the verse in Isaiah 40:31, “But those who hope in the Lord will renew their strength.  They will soar on wings like eagles, they will run and not grow weary, they will walk and not be faint.”  What an encouraging verse for when I hope in the Lord. He will give me the strength that I need.

The second neat experience I would mention was being among the B. people.  While there was a sense of darkness about them, there seemed to be a glimpse of hope that these people carried.  By this, I mean that the people we met among this group were very friendly and very willing to open up to you.  It’s because of these characteristics that I feel as if we were able to make some deep cross-cultural connections with the B-people.  I pray that this will allow for future interactions with them.

Written by Natasha Hammond

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 26, 2010 in End of the Earth, North Africa

 

Leave a Reply

 
