RSS

Boulder – March 2013

21 Mar

IMG_0465Psalm 19:14

“Let the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart be acceptable in Your sight, O Lord, my strength and my Redeemer.”

The roof creaked loudly under the strength of the wind.  The small group of believers smiled and sang even louder as the worship continued in what was little more than a glorified attic.  As I sat towards the back praising with this small group of frontline warriors, I was struck with a sudden and deep love for these brothers and sisters.

Knowing that they were on the frontlines here in Boulder, knowing that they were a small “minority”, knowing that they were using someone else’s building because they couldn’t afford their own, knowing they had recently merged with another church just to keep afloat and then seeing their passion for Christ and their living out a real and unique Christian life-it was beautiful.  They had a love for the Word and for Christ that was unique…even to me, a Christian.  They really loved and cared for each other and their city.  It was kinda convicting honestly.  They were more focused on living a life pleasing to Christ out of an abundant overflow of joy and thankfulness than they were on pleasing men.

AspenGrove-Logo-Scale-300x113I picked Psalm 19:14 because I found that it carried a lot of weight as I prayed for the Christians here in Boulder.   The psalmist says may my words and meditation be acceptable in “YOUR” sight.  Not “Your sight and the Boulderian…er, Boulderite’s sight”, not even “Your sight and my fellow Christian’s sight”…NO…he says “let the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart be acceptable in YOUR sight.”  His, the Lord’s, sight only is to be pleased.

I pray for the Christians of Boulder, as well as, my fellow brothers and sisters in Fayetteville, Washington, Mexico, China, Italy, etc… that we would live uniquely for Christ alone.  I pray that we do not stoop to a lower level of righteousness or preach a watered-down gospel for the sake of missions.  We are called to live lives that are acceptable in His sight alone.  Let’s be unique, Christians; and the world will take notice.

Written by Connor Cockrell

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 21, 2013 in Boulder, General Missions, Judea

 

Leave a Reply

 
