RSS

Haiti: March 2014

25 Mar

Young Street Soccer players pose on the streets of Port au Prince.First, I want to thank God for all the blessings he has bestowed on my life and especially in allowing me to travel to Haiti and to work with the beautiful people here. I also want to thank all of you reading at home for your prayers and support. I know I speak for the group when I say I am ever so grateful for your time in praying for us and thinking of us. God continues to soften my heart and open my eyes to the affliction ever-present here in Haiti. My heart aches for the poverty and hunger and atrocious living conditions in which these people combat every day. At times it seems so overwhelming to see these people on such an exponential scale while I am so small. My heart wants to help all of them but it seems impossible to make any difference. Even in just a couple days I have learned that my role here is not to make any momentous changes but to pray for and love on the people the best I can in the time I am given.

The people here need love – a love that is deeper than worldly love – they need the love of Christ. As I pray, I encourage you all to pray for the people here, for our team, and the permanent missionaries to be able to effectively share Christ’s love so that it can permeate every part of Haiti. It is very encouraging that the people are so receptive of us, and it makes it much easier to engage them.

One thing I have specifically noticed is the contentment of the people here. It has been a huge eye opener for me to see such a joyous people juxtaposed with so little “wealth.” Many things I take for granted every day are things these people could only dream of having. Yet, they don’t know any different so they are content in any situation encompassing them. Their joy is contagious and you can’t help but to smile continuously at their felicity. One of the biggest blessings for me thus far on the trip has been the opportunity to hang out with the local kids. Few things make me happier than to get to play with kids of a different culture. Although I don’t speak their language, playing a simple game of “futból”, hopscotch, or catch is an effective communication tool. Smiles cross all cultures and getting to fellowship with the neighborhood kids through recreation has been a huge blessing for me as well as for them! I pray that God will continue to enable me to love on these kids and portray the joy of Christ.

I am eager for the rest of our week and continued building of relationships with these kids on the streets tugging at my heart. Once again, thank you all so much for your prayer and support.  Although it will be tough to leave, I can’t wait to return and share more about what God has bestowed on my heart as I’ve served and continue to serve the rest of the week here. May God’s glory be put on display in Fayetteville, here in Haiti, and to the ends of the earth!

Written by Jeremy Mueller

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 25, 2014 in General Missions, Haiti, Samaria

 

Leave a Reply

 
