RSS

Ellen Burns – IMB Journeyman – Veracruz, Mexico

04 Oct

IMG_4984Wow, it has been a crazy few weeks! I wish that I could share all of the stories, but for now I’ll just give you the highlights. A couple of weeks ago a team of about 20 people came from the U.S. to do evangelism with the church we have been attending. Although our crazy schedule limited how much we could help them, Candace and I were able to go up the mountains with them a couple of days to help translate into Spanish for the Americans. Not only did I get to visit several new villages, but I also was blessed to get to know many believers, both from Mexico and the U.S., who are passionate about sharing the Gospel!

Another huge blessing that God has given me recently is a group of several people around my age who have been really helpful in sitting down with us and teaching us the language. So not only are we making friends, but we finally have some real language teachers! I never knew how difficult it is to learn a language on your own until I had to do it, and I am so thankful to have help now!

One last story: on Sunday Candace and I were invited to a women’s meeting/baby shower with the ladies from church. So we hiked/rode in the back of a truck up to a little wooden house on the side of the mountain. It was a poor family, but they were looking forward to their new baby with joy, and they showed all of us true Mexican hospitality by insisting on giving us all coffee and tacos. We were able to celebrate the new baby and worship together in both of their heart languages. It is because of experiences like that that I am so grateful that God brought me to this place!

Even though it feels like our days are getting busier and busier, God always gives us the energy we need to get through the day.  It is encouraging to see that the reason we are staying busy is because we are getting more and more connected to the families and the community here!

A sweet lady here has begun to teach us how to make tortillas by hand, as well as some typical Mexican food.  Please pray that God will help us to share Truth with her as we spend time in her home and with her family.

Candace and I are about to begin trying more specific methods to help us learn the language.  Please pray that these new methods will be helpful, and that our language teachers will be willing to work with us in new ways.

Written by Ellen Burns

 

Leave a Reply

 
