RSS

Ellen Burns – IMB Journeyman, Veracruz, Mexico

05 Feb

IMG_0005Learning More Than Just a Language …

Happy February! Time has gotten away from me again. January was another busy month for me, with its challenges, but also some special blessings. Some wonderful people raised money and made arrangements so that I, along with the other singles serving in the Americas, could spend a few days together in Guatemala. We were able to worship together in English (a rare experience for most of us), as well as get loved on my a team from a church in Texas. It was a time of encouragement, as well as great fellowship with like-minded people. Then it was back home to our village, and back to full-time language study! God has really been blessing Candace and I as we study the language here, providing opportunities for us to learn and to practice. $

God has also been using our relationships with our language helpers to open doors into several new homes and nearby communities as well. This past weekend we had the opportunity to attend a joint baby baptism and a first communion service for a young girl, both of these being very important occasions in the Catholic church. Although it was a somewhat uncomfortable experience for me, I was able to meet several new people, and even share some of my beliefs about baptism and salvation with a young girl there. Please pray that God continues to build our relationships with people, and opens many more doors to the Gospel!

Praises/Requests:

I just turned in recordings to help my language coach evaluate how I am progressing in my language learning.  Please pray that she will be able to help me know what to focus on learning, and that I will be open to instruction.

“Mama S” recently asked us for a copy of the Bible, because she’s never had one of her own. Unfortunately, the one we gave her has print that is too small for her to read.  Please pray that we will be able to find a large print Spanish Bible for her, and that in the Bible she will find TRUTH.

After nearly a month of it being out of order, our phone is working again! It is such a blessing to have the ability to communicate with teammates and with family who are in the States.

Written by Ellen Burns

 

Leave a Reply

 
