RSS

Ellen Burns, IMB Journeyman – Veracruz, Mexico

05 Jun

Happy June! As difficult as it is for me to believe, this month Candace and I will pass the one-year mark of living in Mexico… wow! It is amazing and encouraging to look back and see all that God has done in the last 12 months. He has gotten me through some difficult days, and blessed me with some wonderful, memorable days as well. A recent example of this is from just last week. On the 29th, I celebrated my 25th birthday. Rather than having to spend the day alone, wishing to be with my family, I was invited over to a family’s home, where they fed me mole (their traditional birthday meal) and they dressed me up in the local indigenous clothing. Then later that day my teammates came over and we had a more American-style celebration with balloons, candles, etc. It was a fun, relaxing day, and I am so grateful for the people God has placed in my life who were there to celebrate with me.%

Another blessing is that God continues to provide us with new friendships, and new opportunities to share life with people, in good times and bad. The more I get to know people here, the greater the love that God gives me for them, and the stronger the desire I have for them to have true, lasting relationships with Jesus Christ. Life here isn’t always easy, and there are many days when I wish God had called me to do something “easier”, but then He reminds me of the reason why I am here, and it makes it worth all that He asks of me and more. I am, without a doubt, blessed to be where I am.

Prayer Requests/Praises:

This week I had my second language evaluation, and, despite a nearly constant struggle to find teachers, I have made progress! Although I still have months of studying to do, it is encouraging to see improvement.

In two short weeks, I will be traveling to Arkansas for my sister’s wedding, my first chance to visit home in a year! Please pray that it will be a good, restful time with family and friends, and that I will return with extra motivation to study and to spend time visiting with people.

We are beginning to meet with a small group of people who have volunteered to help us translate stories into Nahuatl.  Please pray that they will overcome any nerves about being recorded, that they will learn from the stories, and that this group will share what they learn with others.

 

Leave a Reply

 
