RSS

Ellen Burns, IMB Journeyman – Veracruz, Mexico

02 Jul

The past month was a special time, as I had the opportunity to do several things that I am not usually able to do. The most exciting of these was the chance I had to travel to Arkansas for my sister’s wedding! It was a quick, busy trip, but I was able to see many family members and friends who I hadn’t seen in over a year, which was a huge blessing! God also showed Himself faithful in the small things, as He protected me flying through a tropical storm, as well as on two planes in a row with mechanical issues. He also kept me sane as I dealt with lost luggage and miscommunication long distance. One neat thing that came out of all of the chaos of travel was that I ended up having the opportunity to share my testimony with the taxi driver from the airport! It was a crazy travel adventure, but God brought me through all of it.!

This month also brought renewed enthusiasm by the people here for Bible story translation. As I have mentioned before, it has been difficult to find people who understand what we are trying to do, and who are willing and able to do it. However, God continues to work. We have had several people step up and volunteer to help us, and to encourage others to join in as well. There are sure to be more struggles down the road, but God will not leave us without hope, or without help. He brought me and Candace here for a reason, and He is working to bring about His will in our lives and in the lives of those we encounter here. God is good.

Praises/Prayer Requests:

After being gone for the past year on furlough, one of our supervisors and his family have safely moved back to Mexico!

We are beginning to meet with a small group of people who have volunteered to help us translate stories into Nahuatl.  Please pray that they will overcome any nerves about being recorded, that they will learn from the stories, and that this group will share what they learn with others.

It has begun to rain on a daily basis, and some days this can make it difficult to accomplish what needs to be done.  Please pray that the rain will not keep us from doing our work, and that we will still be able to find people to study language with, to share stories with, and to visit with, no matter what the weather.

Written by Ellen Burns

 

Leave a Reply

 
