RSS

Uganda – Gabe Llewellyn, May 2016

17 May

Kampala Uganda – “Looking to Jesus”, Hebrews 12:2

I am going through a very pivotal time as I seek to understand what it means to follow the Lord. One of the things that the Lord has been speaking to me is from John 21. Jesus just restored Peter after Peter denied him and then Jesus tells him to “follow me”. Peter then turns and says, “what about John?” and Jesus rebukes him by saying “…what is it to you? You follow me!” This is hard for me because most of my life I have spent comparing to others. I simply need to be faithful to the call that He has put on my heart and not worry about what others are doing.

I originally titled this entry “A chase for power” because for several days I was confused and lost in the sea of looking to men for hope. One of the tough things to swallow is that I have had this aggrandized view of missionaries. I viewed them like the special forces of the military…the super spiritual guys of the church. The issue is that while it looks real sexy from the outside, they have many of the same struggles as other Christians.  Apart from me keeping my eyes on Christ, I become disenfranchised with the men and women I have set on a pedestal as I see remaining evidences of their carnal man. Sadly, this struggle encompasses most of the Christian life. Whether as a church member, pastor, missionary or some other variation, it seems that many go astray and buy into the lies of popularity and power. The part for me is that my focus need not be on them. In fact, just as the Lord told Peter, what is it to me if the Lord does or does not do something through their lives?…I must follow Him! So while it does seem easy to become discouraged with the Christian life when it appears that some people are involved to the extent that they are in power, Christ has called me to follow Him. I have been asking the Lord to help me look past the people and just see Him.

Written by Gabe Llewellyn

 

Leave a Reply

 
