RSS

Colombia – March 2017

22 Mar

If I am being honest with you, I never foresaw myself going to South America.  Traveling south wasn’t on my bucket list or any sort of list for that matter.  When I learned about this opportunity, I had to use Google to even make sure where Colombia was located within South America.  Although I had no significant heart or desire for South America or Colombia, I knew that God did.  

Mark Twain has a famous quote that states, “Travel is fatal to prejudice, bigotry, and narrow-mindedness…” which is quite true. What is more, it expands my heart and love of the world to get a little more like God’s.  “For God so loved the world,” and now, I love the world a little more like He does.

When I learned about this opportunity to join the B-Family for a short visit, I knew that God would expand my heart for a place and a people that I had never thought much about before. And sure enough, I now know the sights and sounds and smells of a place I had never before paid much mind to.  I have friends in Colombia, and my heart feels a little bit more like God’s heart. We spent a lot of time with the B family, with their friends, Mr. L and his son, and with other missionaries in their area, I care about them deeply.

If you’ve ever been on a trip with UBC, you understand what I’m talking about, how our hearts grow.  If you’ve ever considered joining a mission trip opportunity with UBC, I highly recommend talking to Ryan Martin or someone else that can get you connected and plugged in.  Let your heart grow as you serve the Lord and the church and experience more of the world.

Written by Michael Gaddy

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 22, 2017 in Colombia, General Missions, Samaria

 

Leave a Reply

 
